HOTLINE(050) 447-70-63
We are available 24/7
Leave your contact details
and we contact you
Thank you for reaching out

Or contact us:

[email protected]

(050) 447-70-63

File a complaint

December 8: awarding anti-prize for sexism "This is the Egg! - 2020"

07.12.2020, 16:08

On December 8, at 1.00 p,m. the big-league sexists will be awarded the anti-prize "This is the Egg !- 2020". 

The award will be presented during the Zoom conference with a broadcast on the Facebook pages of the organizations holding this year's anti-award. 

After receiving dozens of applications with nominees through the online form, the professional commission voted to select seven candidates in the "Sexist Phrase" category and six in the "Sexist Story" category. They entered the shortlist of this year's anti-award. 

The commission is composed of: 

Victoria Ermolaeva, editor-in-chief of the website of the campaign against sexism "Povaha" (Respect), coordinator of this year's award "This is the Egg"; 

Tamara Martsenyuk, Candidate of Social Sciences Ph.D., Associate Professor of Sociology, National University "Kyiv-Mohyla Academy", gender expert of the Ukrainian Helsinki Human Rights Union;

Yelyzaveta Kuzmenko, Chair of the Women in the Media Association, Member of the Commission on Journalism Ethics;

Gala Sklyarevska, Deputy Editor-in-Chief of “Detector Media”;

Natalia Ligachova, Chairman of the Board of the “Detektor Media” NGO, Editor-in-Chief of the “Detector Media” portal;  

Andriy Kulikov, TV and radio presenter, co-founder of Hromadske Radio and chairman of the Commission on Journalism Ethics;

Iryna Virtosu, journalist of the ZMINA Human Rights Center;

Iryna Slavinska, Gender Coordinator of the Anti-Sexism Campaign in Media and Politics “Povaha";

Iryna Zemlyana, media expert and security coach at the Institute for Mass Information;

Iryna Tyshko, coordinator of the project #electionsWithoutsexism.

The event will be broadcast on the Facebook page of the Institute for Mass Information.

The moderator of the event is the head of the public organization Tochka opory” (Point of Support) Timur Levchuk.

It will be recalled that the anti-award It will be recalled that the anti-award "This is the Egg!" has been founded in 2019 by NGOs “Women in Mass Media”, “Institute of Mass Information”, ZMINA Human Rights Center, “Detector Media”, “Campaign against Sexism in Mass Media and Politics “Respect”, Ukrainian Helsinki Human Rights Union. In 2020, the project "Elections without sexism" joined the initiative. 

The nomination is intended to draw attention to the problem of the stereotypes in representing of women in mass media and of discrimination by public persons based on sex or gender.

On December 9, 2019, the winners of the anti- award "This is the Egg!" were announced : President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelensky, Gender Commissioner of Zaporizhzhya Regional Council Vladyslav Marchenko, MP Maksym Buzhansky, former President of the Cycling Federation Oleksandr Bashenko, “112 Ukraina” channel and “Segodnya” website.  

Liked the article?
Help us be even more cool!