HOTLINE(050) 447-70-63
We are available 24/7
Leave your contact details
and we contact you
Thank you for reaching out

Or contact us:

[email protected]

(050) 447-70-63

File a complaint

Short list of nominees for George Gongadze Prize announced

02.04.2021, 16:30
Photo credit:
Photo credit:

The Jury of the Georgy Gongadze Prize named the short list nominees for the award : Myroslava Barchuk, Borys Davydenko, Marichka Paplauskaite, as “Detektor Media” reported.

Myroslava Barchuk (1968) is a journalist and TV presenter. In the profession since the mid-1990s. She worked for Channel 5, TVi, "Espresso", was the editor of “Welcome to Ukraine” magazine. She is currently the host of the “Countdown” program at UA:PBC (Public broadcaster).

Boris Davydenko (1980)is a journalist, editor. He worked for the Ukrainian “Forbes”, he was the editor-in-chief of the analytical platform VoxUkraine, and currently, he heads the editorial board of

Marichka Paplauskaite (1988) is a journalist and editor. She is co-founder of “The Ukrainians”, editor-in-chief of the online magazine “Reporters”; She is lecturer at the School of Journalism of the Ukrainian Catholic University, author of the report book "God of Wonderful People and Other Sinners".

This year's long list of nominees for the Georgy Gongadze Prize includes 18 Ukrainian journalists.

Under the terms of the award, only members of the Jury have the right to nominate journalists for it.

This year's chapter includes: Georgy Gongadze's widow, journalist, editor-in-chief and head of the Ukrainian Voice of America service Myroslav Gongadze; President of the Ukrainian PEN, writer Andriy Kurkov; journalist, co-founder and owner of "Ukrainska Pravda" Olena Prytula; Dean of Kyiv-Mohyla Business School Oleksandr Savruk; award patron and representative of powered KMBS Alumni platform Maxim Dyadyk; writer, human rights activist Larysa Denysenko; founder of the “Historychna Pravda” and the Museum-Archive of the Press, the first winner of the Gongadze Prize Vakhtang Kipiani; publicist, winner of the Gongadze Prize Pavlo Kazarin; Inna Kuznetsova, head of the Kyiv bureau of Radio Liberty.

The winner will be announced during the ceremony on May 21, on Georgy Gongadze’s 52th birthday.

Only journalists working in Ukraine who have remained in the profession for the last five years are eligible for the award. The amount of reward for the winner is UAH 100 thousand.

The Georgy Gongadze Prize was established in 2019 by the Ukrainian PEN in partnership with the Kyiv-Mohyla Business School, powered by the KMBS Alumni platform and the Ukrainian Pravda publication. The winners of the Prize were Vakhtang Kipiani (2019) and Pavlo Kazarin (2020).

The public broadcaster of Ukraine is the general media partner.

Liked the article?
Help us be even more cool!