HOTLINE(050) 447-70-63
We are available 24/7
Leave your contact details
and we contact you
Thank you for reaching out

Or contact us:

[email protected]

(050) 447-70-63

File a complaint

Renewed jury of Georgy Gongadze Prize 2021 announced

30.12.2020, 17:06
Photo credit: Georgy Gongzade Prize
Photo credit: Georgy Gongzade Prize

The Georgy Gongadze Prize has announced its renewed composition of the Capitulum, which will determine the winner of 2021, as PEN Ukraine reported on its website.

The jury included:

Myroslava Gongadze - Georgy's widow, journalist, editor-in-chief and head of the Ukrainian Voice of America Service;

Larysa Denysenko - journalist, writer, human rights activist;

Maksym Dyadyk - patron of the award, graduate of Kyiv-Mohyla Business School;

Pavlo Kazarin - publicist, TV and radio presenter, winner of the Georgy Gongadze Prize 2020;

Vakhtang Kipiani - journalist, founder of the publication "Historical Truth" and author of the TV program of the same name, founder of the Museum-Archives of the Press, winner of the Georgy Gongadze Prize 2019;

Inna Kuznetsova - head of the Kyiv bureau of Radio Svoboda;

Andriy Kurkov - President of the Ukrainian PEN, writer;

Olena Prytula - journalist, co-founder and owner of Ukrayinska Pravda;

Oleksandr Savruk is the dean of the Kyiv-Mohyla Business School.

The members of the jury will determine the winner of the award by nominating and voting for them in three stages. A short list of nominees will be announced in April.

The Georgy Gongadze Prize is an award for independent journalists established by the Ukrainian PEN in partnership with the Kyiv-Mohyla Business School Alumni Association and the Ukrainian Pravda edition.

The purpose of the prize is to support journalists who adhere to the principles and values ​​of independent journalism, demonstrate professionalism, competence, innovation, produce the stories that help solve or understand certain problems existing in the society and make change in the country and make a significant contribution to the media landscape.

The prize is awarded annually on May 21, Georgy Gongadze's birthday. The winner in 2019 was Vakhtang Kipiani, in 2020 - Pavlo Kazarin .

Liked the article?
Help us be even more cool!