HOTLINE(050) 447-70-63
We are available 24/7
Leave your contact details
and we contact you
Thank you for reaching out

Or contact us:

[email protected]

(050) 447-70-63

File a complaint

Bohdan Logvynenko wins the 2023 Gongadze Prize

22.05.2023, 12:19

Journalist, author, host and founder of the Ukraïner project, Bohdan Logvynenko, won the Heorhiy Gongadze Prize. This is reported on the Prize's website.

The fifth Prize was presented on May 21 in Kyiv.

While receiving the award, Bohdan said:

"Before the Ukraïner, I felt like I was in the minority. A person who tries to change the journalistic ethics from the inside, to talk about internal corruption. This is award honors the journalist who also felt in the minority among his colleagues who ran with the Soviet propaganda inertia and served their owners, politicians, and ruling parties. Being uncompromising when it comes to cooperating with the enemy, the Russian colonialism, and the Ukrainian identity is what we inherited from Heorhiy Gongadze. With this award, I am being granted trust and responsibility for this legacy."

Other finalists of the 2023 Prize were war correspondent, Donbass Frontliner founder, Andriy Dubchak, and "European Pravda" ediror, Serhiy Sydorenko.

The winner receives a commemorative trophy – a figurine reflecting the idea of the award – and a reward of 100,000 hryvnias.

Bohdan Logvynenko founded the Ukraïner project in 2016. Since the start of Russia's full-scale invasion of Ukraine, the media has rebooted all its communication channels and now use them to report on Russia's war on Ukraine for Ukrainian and foreign audiences. The Ukraïner prioritizes stories that showcase the Ukrainians' resilience, telling them in different languages on different platforms. Bohdan Logvynenko is the co-author of "Deoccupation" – a documentary and a book about the people's resistance in Ukraine's de-occupied territories. He was also a Heorhiy Gongadze Prize finalist in 2020.

The ceremony attendees honored the Ukrainian journalists who were killed by Russia's aggression. Since February 24, 2022, 58 Ukrainian and foreign media workers have died.

The ceremony took place in the Art Arsenal, the event was traditionally hosted by journalists Yuriy Makarov and Olha Snitsarchuk. It was attended by the previous laureates: Vakhtang Kipiani, Myroslava Barchuk, Yevhen Maloletka and Mstyslav Chernov, as well as the PEN Ukraine president, Volodymyr Yermolenko.

The Heorhiy Gongadze Prize is an award for independent journalists, established by PEN Ukraine in partnership with the Kyiv-Mohyla Business School Alumni Association, the Kyiv-Mohyla Business School and "Ukrainian Pravda" in 2019.

The Prize is awarded once a year on May 21, which is the birthday of journalist Heorhiy Gongadze.

Liked the article?
Help us be even more cool!