HOTLINE(050) 447-70-63
We are available 24/7
Leave your contact details
and we contact you
Thank you for reaching out

Or contact us:

[email protected]

(050) 447-70-63

File a complaint

The ninth EU sanctions package includes four Russian TV channels

16.12.2022, 17:09

The European Union Council adopted the ninth package of sanctions against Russia in response to its invasion of Ukraine.

This is stated in the press release.

In particular, the EU initiated the process for suspending the broadcasting licences of four additional media outlets: NTV/NTV Mir, Rossiya 1, REN TV and Pervyi Kanal.

"These outlets are under the permanent direct or indirect control of the leadership of the Russian Federation and have been used by latter for its continuous and concerted disinformation and war propaganda actions, which legitimise Russia’s aggression and undermine support for Ukraine," the EU Council explains.

As IMI reported, Russian media holding VGTRK took cues from the FSB and the Ministry of Defense about how to cover events.

Liked the article?
Help us be even more cool!