HOTLINE(050) 447-70-63
We are available 24/7
Leave your contact details
and we contact you
Thank you for reaching out

Or contact us:

[email protected]

(050) 447-70-63

File a complaint

Journalists are consistently not allowed to sessions of parliamentary committees

18.02.2015, 14:35

Some of parliamentary committees in the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine consistently deny journalists access to their sessions. This information comes from the coordinator of the group "Monitoring Open" Oleksiy Bratushchak in his blog at "Ukrainska Pravda".

These are the conclusions drawn by "Monitoring Open" based on the work of the Parliament on February 9-15.

For example, five committees simply refused to let observers in without giving any reason. These committees are: Committee for construction and city development, Committee for social policy, Committee for ecological policy, Committee for tax and customs policy, and Committee of financial policy and banking.

One of the most outrageous excuses given to the activists was by the Committee for the issues of construction (headed by Serhiy Skuratovskyi, Radical party) and Committee for Social Policy (headed by Liudmyla Denisova, "People's Front") who said that they do not use e-mail and they need an official letter.

Three committees never announced when they will gather, two committees declared "urgent" meetings to solve all issues regarding appointment of new prosecutor's general (committee for law enforcement, headed by Andriy Kozhemiakin, "Batkivshchyna") and presidential law on reformation of court system (committee for the issues of law policy and justice, headed by Ruslan Kniazevych, Petro Poroshenko Bloc).

Liked the article?
Help us be even more cool!