On call 24 hours
Leave your data
and we'll get in touch with you
Thank you for your appeal

Or contact us:

050 447 70 63

Donate ІМІFile a complaint

In Donetska oblast, two electoral committees do not admit journalists

08.10.2015, 14:11

Kurakhiv town electoral committee and Maryinsky rayon electoral committee (both in Donetska oblast) do not admit journalists, who want to cover their work. The website of OPORA informed about this as information gathered by their observer.

According to him, last week the committee members did not believe that the journalist ID of one of the journalist was genuine, and promised to contact the editorial office to clarify if the journalist indeed works there. In a week, this journalist was still not admitted. A similar situation was observed with other journalists. On October 5, both committees did not admit mass media representatives to their information materials after they showed their IDs. According to the committee members, IDs are an insufficient proof of working in a media outlet. They demand official accreditation, and when one applies for it, they delay the consideration of the issue making the journalists' work impossible. In addition, the head of committee in Maryinka was rude towards the journalists.

Such actions are not only against the Laws of Ukraine specifically for elections, but also violate the very foundations of democracy stipulated in the Constitution.

Liked the article? Help us be even more cool!
Want to learn first about the new research of the Institute of Mass Media? Subscribe to the newsletter!
Thank you for subscribing!